Egg Drop Soup

egg drop soup

Even though I have a bit of a cold, I would not want to disappoint all eleven of my fans, so I’m posting today regardless! I decided to make soup for myself, because you have to be able to take care of yourself when you are sick and your mommy is not around (especially if you happen to be single at some point in your life).

I made this egg drop soup. It was okay. I did accidentally have a big chunk of egg in there instead of uniform nice swirls, and I definitely did not use enough bouillon because it was kind of bland. (It might also have tasted bland due to nose stuffiness, but I kind of doubt it.) However, practice makes perfect. Cooking is harder when you don’t do it.

Things you will need:

  • a small pot and stove
  • 2 cups of water
  • 2 tsp Better than Bouillon chicken base (It said 1 tsp to every 8 oz/1 cup of water. I have decided this is a lie, as it turned out really bland. I would likely use a full tablespoon (equivalent to 3 tsp) next time). If you are a lacto-ovo vegetarian, you can use a vegetarian base. 2 bouillon cubes would also probably work, or chicken broth/stock if you happen to have some laying around.
  • 1 egg
  • 1 small bowl in which to scramble said egg
  • 1 fork with which to scramble said egg
  • 1 bowl and 1 spoon to eat with
  • 1 ladle to serve with (optional)
  1. Put the two cups of water in the pot on the stove and bring to a boil. (This means turn up the heat all the way. When it starts really bubbling, turn the heat down to more like 1/3 to maintain the boil and prevent it from boiling over.)
  2. Once it is boiling, add your chicken base and let it dissolve. If you want, you can use the spoon you are going to eat with to eye-ball the 1 tablespoon measurement. Otherwise, break out with the measuring spoons.
  3. Meanwhile, crack your egg on the small bowl and discard shell. Scramble the egg with the fork.
  4. Slowly pour the scrambled egg into the boiling chicken broth, stirring as you go. The egg will cook and make swirls.
  5. Once all the egg looks cooked, serve by ladling into a bowl, or pour directly from the pot into a bowl. (Do not use the same bowl you scrambled the egg in unless you want salmonella.) Pick up spoon and eat!
  6. Put leftovers in the fridge, because you are sick and exhausted and now you have maybe two extra meals because I had you make a lot of soup. Yay!

One thought on “Egg Drop Soup

  1. Pingback: How to make Egg drop soup? | Questionzbuzz.com

Leave a comment